24

Abhinaya Konduru
3 min readJun 1, 2020

There are too many new experiences to start counting this year! Here is what I did in the past year:

Photo by Javier Allegue Barros on Unsplash

🎵 May: BTS

BTS released their new album, and they were back in Chicago again to perform. My obsession that started in October 2018 continued and probably won’t stop.

I also spent a couple of weeks looking for a new apartment to move to. It was time to move out of my apartment that I had since college.

🇮🇳 June: India

I spent most of June in India. I traveled to my hometown, a weekend road trip with friends, met new folks in the venture and startup scene in Bengaluru, and Hyderabad, saw extended family and witnessed the last few days of my grandfather.

🏠 July: New Apartment

I moved into a new apartment with my friend that was in walking distance to work. My roommate and I spent the majority of our time looking into things to buy, setting up the apartment, and having friends over.

I also signed a bunch of docs at work after navigating through uncharted waters of compensation split of carry and salary.

🥼 August: Pause on an experiment

If you read my previous Medium posts, I used to make weekly posts on what I am doing to explore seven interests of mine. Here is why I paused on it. While I paused writing about it, I didn’t pause on the activities. I am most proud of all the paintings that I have done. Some of them are posted here.

🍽️ September: Dinner Parties

I love cooking and having people over at my apt. I decided to host frequent dinner parties that brought people’s ideas and interests together. It was fun! My recipe list has grown.

💃 October: Friends

I spent a lot of time hanging out with friends as much as possible. We were playing board games, going to concerts, parties and doing spur of the moment activities.

I traveled to a couple of places in the Midwest for work too.

🏖️ November: San Diego

When I was attending the AllRaise summit in SF, I decided to use that weekend to travel to San Diego and spend some time on the beach with my friend. I was getting sick when I was there and had to power through the summit with it. It was also my first time in SF!

👨‍👩‍👧‍👧 December: Texas

A lot of good memories!

My family and I traveled to Texas (San Antonio, Austin, and Dallas), visiting extended family and friends. 2019 was also my parent’s 25th marriage anniversary, and we decided to celebrate it there.

🏸 January: Badminton

I started going to badminton meetups and eventually started hosting them. I met some awesome folks there, and it was good to pick badminton back up again.

🌳 February: 1for2

1for2 is a foundation that I regularly work with and care about. It’s a foundation that provides scholarships for college students with the expectation that the scholars would pay it back by paying for two other students at some point in their lifetime. I was able to attend the directors’ meeting and plan new activities for the rest of the year.

🦠 March: India & COVID

My cousin was getting married in India. So, my family and I decided to go to India, and that’s when things were getting shut down due to COVID. We cut our trip short and came back to the US within a couple of days.

💻 April: WFH

I decided to stay with my parents after quarantining ourselves since we traveled through two major airports. It took a while to get adjusted to being back at home. It’s been more than 6+ years since I stayed with my parents for more than a week. We all had to find what our new routine was going to be like.

One Month of My Life

Breakdown of how I spent my time last month

If the above diagram is not visible see it on desktop or turn your phone to landscape mode

Some observations from last year:

  • Sleep ↑
  • Health ↓
  • Work ↑
  • Family ↑
  • Transportation ↓
  • New categories: Duo Lingo and Coursera

Ending Thoughts

There are some things that I can’t talk about without getting into trouble with my parents, but I can’t wait for the next year of my life. So many changes and I can’t wait to be the best version of myself.

Previous years: 22; 23

--

--